This site has been archived and you can no longer log in or post new messages. For up-to-date community resources please visit ezplatform.com

eZ Community » Forums » Developer » Disable caches
expandshrink

Disable caches

Disable caches

Wednesday 02 March 2011 11:24:04 pm - 5 replies

Hi,

How can I disable some caches?

I want to users view the content added by other users instantly.

Thursday 03 March 2011 10:06:00 am

Your question is too generic to have a proper answer.

The cache you might want to disable is the "view cache" (look for "viewcaching" in ini files).

But that is considered very very very much a bad idea on production web sites, as it basically kills performances and scalability.

By default you should not have such problems as you describe, ie. eZP shows new content as soon as it is added. If you have introduced dependencies between unrelated content via templates, you should look into the smart view cache...

Thursday 03 March 2011 1:34:56 pm

Hi,

In addition to what Gaetano writes, you should have a look at http://doc.ez.no/eZ-Publish/Technical-manual/4.x/Features/View-caching

Cheers

Thursday 03 March 2011 7:45:14 pm

Yes, I agree, but I'm building a site is that users continually add content to show to others.

I saw that if I add content, does not appear until the caches clean.

Monday 07 March 2011 2:09:53 pm

my solution is: ... Wrong

{section show=$MinGroup:item.data_map|contains('link')}
will not work because we need to test against the keys of data_map, not the values. Back to the drawing board.

Modified on Monday 07 March 2011 2:09:54 pm by S V

Monday 07 March 2011 2:17:17 pm

No, that function is essentially missing. Once your object is published, you cannot unpublish it (via the user interface).
In ez2, there was such an option (but ez2 had NO versioning).

You may try these options, when you wand to hide a published article:
- Delete it (will be in trash... but probably not editable)
- Move it to some place, when the "common user" cannot see it
- Assign a section to it, that the "common user" cannot read (you need a "admin section" for this, but i found this very handy).

We are using the second option, which you can use to (re-)move complete folder structures "out of the the visitors view" quickly.

NOTE: When you move an object by changing its main location, it might get a news section id (it will get the section ID of the new parent node). But when you move a complete tree, this only applies to the main object (usually a folder), not the child node (node assignment is not recursive, when you move nodes).
This might be important, when your read permission are only based on sections.

expandshrink

You must be logged in to post messages in this topic!

36 542 Users on board!

Forums menu

Proudly Developed with from