eZ Community » Learn » eZ Publish » Managing Versions with eZ Publish

Managing Versions with eZ Publish

Friday 17 August 2007 3:00:00 pm

  • Currently 3 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

With the eZ Publish versioning system, you can revert an object from the current version to a previous version. Only a limited number of versions of each content object are stored in the database, to prevent the database from getting too large. By default, this is set to 10, but can be altered by your site administrator.

Do not confuse reverting to a previous version with recovering deleted content from trash. When deleting content, all versions of that content are removed and will vanish from the public siteaccess. In that case, you would need to restore the entire object, instead of a particular version.

To revert to a prior version of an object, make sure you are logged in with your Editor (or Administrator) user account and follow the steps below.

  1. Locate the content in question and bring up the Version history interface as previously described.
  2. Click the Copy button next to the version to which you want to revert. The selected version will most likely have an Archived status.
  3. Click the Edit button next to the newly created version (having the higher version number) to enter edit mode.
  4. Click the Send for publishing button at the bottom of the page. You can optionally edit this version before publishing it.
36 542 Users on board!

Tutorial menu

Printable

Printer Friendly version of the full article on one page with plain styles

Author(s)

Proudly Developed with from